I’m Back “Home”

Bonjour! or should I say Hello! since I’m back in the USA!

I have been “home” almost 2 weeks now and it has been the strangest 2 weeks ever! The reason I put “home” in quotes is because I feel I have left a piece of my heart in every city I visited this year and coming back to Canton, Ohio doesn’t feel 100% like home anymore. Of course I was very excited to come back home and see all of my family and friends here in Ohio, but I experienced a severe case of reverse culture shock.

The first week home was the hardest. I kept thinking of all the things I did during my year abroad that I could never do here in the US, so I did nothing but stay home and feel sad about no longer being in Europe. But as time went on, I realized I had to move on with my life because my adventures don’t stop here…

In 2 weeks I will be going to Brazil to visit my family which is very exciting! Then in mid-August I will be moving to Tampa, Florida where I will be a student at UT studying international business and of course, French and Spanish. My goal is to keep up on both French and Spanish because I invested a lot of time in learning these languages. I will also make it a goal to keep up with this blog and inform my readers on any of the other adventures life will take me on!

I’d like to thank Rotary and my family for encouraging to not only go on exchange but also motiving me to write on this blog, hopefully my readers enjoyed keeping up on all my adventures! This year has shaped me in so many different ways and I am so grateful for the opportunity I had.

Here’s to many more!

Bisous,

Amanda

Rotary Exchange Student 2016-17

Sponsoring District: 6650 North Eastern Ohio, USA

Sponsoring Club: Jackson Township

Host District: 1780 Rhône-Alpes

Host Club: Chambéry Challes-les-Eaux, France

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Back “Home”

  1. Kathryn Stone says:

    Welcome home Amanda!!!!

    I am so proud of you and so happy to know that you had a marvelous experience abroad! It has been a pleasure reading about your adventures throughout the year – you’ve had an experience of a lifetime. It was touching, reading your impressions of ‘culture shock.’ As difficult as it has been, the feelings of loss of culture and identity, you have been made stronger for it. You have the knowledge of what it means to feel like you are standing alone and outside of the world, millions of people feel that way everyday, unfortunately. As you move through life, your understanding of others and their perspectives will bring you closer to them and help make this planet a more compassionate and empathetic place for all of us to live and thrive. You are going to change the world Amanda!!!

    I wish you all of the best in college and on your travels:) It was truly a pleasure to work with you in JAGS!

    Much, much love!
    -Ms. Stone

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

