Bus Trip: Paris, France to Barcelona, Spain

Hola amigos!

I created a youtube channel where I’ll be posting videos of cool events I got to participate in, like this bus trip! Click on it to watch! 🙂

I had the amazing opportunity to go a bus trip with 38 other exchange students from the Rhône-Alpes region of France. We traveled from Paris, France all the way down to Barcelona, Spain. I got to meet lots of cool people, try new foods, and experience different cultures during this trip, so I thought I’d share it with everyone. Enjoy!

DAY 1:

We started the adventure in PARIS! We got to see the Eiffel Tower, L’arc de Triomphe, Le Louvre, L’Opéra de Paris, etc. Unfortunately, most of our time in Paris was spent in a bus, but that changed when we arrived in Chambord, France.

img_0401img_0404

DAY 2:

The second day we visited 2 castles: Le Château de Chambord and Le Clos Lucé, they were absolutely beautiful! We then stopped in Amboise, a city located south west of Paris, for lunch and made our way down to Potiers.

img_0444img_0466img_0484

DAY 3:

The third day we went to Futuroscope, a French amusement park in Potiers. This park was sooooo much fun!! It has super advanced technology and it was all in French, I really enjoyed  my day here with my friends.

img_0494img_0453img_0470img_0497

DAY 4:

The fourth day, we went to Toulouse, France. Aka ‘the rose colored city‘. Toulouse is a beautiful city in the south of France known for it’s orange (rose) colored bricks that make the streets so unique. We got to visit the city hall, a church, and try authentic Italian pizza. I had a very nice time.

Later on that night, we drove to BARCELONA!!! I was soooooo excited to finally get to Spain because I went to Madrid two years ago and fell in love with the culture, language, food, etc. This time I was with my friend Ireland who is from Peru so she helped me with speaking Spanish, since I now speak more French than Spanish. 😝

img_0482img_0498img_0504

DAY 5-6:

We stayed at a hotel 1 hour away from Barcelona, called Lloret del Mar. It’s a costal city in northern Spain. We spent 3 nights at the hotel with another district of exchange students from the northern part of France, so I got to meet and talk with other exchange students.

The first day in Barcelona, we went to Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria. It’s an adorable market known for its fresh produce.

img_0603img_0604img_1454img_0601img_0599img_1455

I’m so grateful I could discover another’s city in Spain. I think Barcelona is my favorite city I have visited so far, especially La Plaza de Cataluña: the heart of the city of Barcelona. The atmosphere here is incredible! The streets are filled with so much art, different languages (because the official languages here are Catalan & Español and many other languges from travelers) and the weather was beautiful!! I couldn’t have asked for a better 2 days in Barcelona.

My favorite food from Spain is called ‘Pinxtos,’ an appetizer from the Basque region of Spain. They are typically tiny pieces of bread with cheese, a type of meat, and veggies severed on top. We also had fresh fruit juice and a Basque dessert called Góxua which is like creme brulee with vanilla ice cream in the center.

We then visited La Sagrada Familia, my jaw dropped when I saw it. The architecture is so unique, I’ve never seen anything like it before in my life!!

And my favorite part… la playa! The beaches of Barcelona are so beautiful and we had great weather during the time we were there, so I was enjoying every second!

DAY 7:

The last visit was in Figueres, a city in the northern part of Spain. It’s  a very cozy city, they also speak Catalan here. All the streets are filled with signs in Catalan. It’s  actually quite similar to the Latin languages.

We got to visit the Dali museum, it was one of the most unique museums I have ever visited. Salvador Dali had a very unique style and I’m really glad I got to see his work in person.

Sadly, it was the last day of the bus trip and we drove back home to Lyon. I have made so many new friends, learned more Spanish from all the Hispanophones I met, and made lots of hilarious memories on this trip.

Shoutout to my parents for giving me the opportunity to explore the world with like minded people. This trip was one I’ll never forget!

 

2 thoughts on “Bus Trip: Paris, France to Barcelona, Spain

  1. Ariadna says:

    Hi Amanda!!! Looks like your trip is being awesome!!! Very beautiful places. It’s an amazing experience that you are having…it’s one in a life time!!! I was an exchange student from rotary club as well and it was incredible. Enjoy this experience!!! Hope you have a blast!!! By the way I’m your mom’s friend from Brazil… I also met your Dad when I was an exchange student!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amanda Maxim says:

      Hi!! That’s so cool! I’m really loving every second of my year abroad, I never want it to end 🙂 my mom told me how she had so much fun with you when you guys were exchange students!

      Like

Leave a Reply

